Oddments

In search of story

15 thoughts on “April 16.24: Coping, but barely

  1. Maureen bite your tongue and your fingers! “Can winter be far behind” are words that I don’t want to hear or see written! 🤗 I’m sorry your area got pelted with hail. Hail is nasty and the sound of it alone is frightening, let alone the damage it can cause.

    Hope you are enjoying a sunny day with warmer temperatures.

    Ginger🦋

    • Dismal, isn’t it? Just when I think maybe the trees will blossom and I can put my woolies away, here comes the ice! Mother Nature has no manners! Thanks for your good wishes, Ginger. I too hope for warmth and sun!

  2. Yikes! I just got a text from my brother (Iowa) about “blinding rain and severe hail” – I don’t even want to think about that. I certainly don’t want to think about the return of winter. I’m with Ginger on that one. Take care and stay safe. I hope the hail didn’t damage anything,

    • Thanks, Dan, no damage except to my nerves. It really sounded like a locomotive coming through. Usually hail gives a little warning with a few taps, but not this time! I believe the blinding rain and severe hail, but I think your brother got it worse — at least so far. I hope no damage for him, and for the rest of everyone to the east.

  3. Hail, really. Wow. What we get are the darn winds that rattle everything and bring down branches. I’m hoping it moves through quickly and doesn’t plan a return visit. We’re lucky we have sunshine and good temps today with no wind or hail. 🙂

  4. Those last two lines….now isn’t that a thought?! That is some monster hail for sure. Let me see if I can gather up some of our ‘near 80 degree weather’ and send it your way. 😎

    • Yes, please! Actually the last several days have been sunny and warm, but only yesterday was calm. The sunshine was SOOOO wonderful! In Indiana it doesn’t pay to get complacent about spring; it can change in a blink because winter fights hard here. I’ve known snow in May. I didn’t like it, but I knew it.

  5. Maureen, this poem is fabulous. I like your ending; indeed, the cycles continue…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.