Oddments

In search of story

December 24.23: Coping, but barely

19 Comments

How fantastical,

how stickily droll,

Christmas lights

in mixing bowl!

No treasure chest

of royal bling

could be more saucy,

more nose-beguiling.

In glint of ruby,

emerald, gold,

its riches twinkling

manifold,

with storied kitchens

thus entrusted,

memories soon

to be encrusted.

 

I had a Christmas wish list which included mincemeat pie for Christmas, and didn’t my daughter-in-law decide to make her own mincemeat! I am in awe of how beautiful it is, and I am even more in awe of her ambition!

There is nothing about mincemeat that doesn’t take me back to my Grandma O’Hern’s dining room. I endeared myself to everyone then by eating the filling and leaving the crust, but I’m better now.

All our traditions come with wishes, hopes, dreams. We are very aware this year of all those whose dreams and hopes have been shattered by violence, whether by words or by other weapons. I know how fortunate I am to be able to wish for mincemeat pie while others wish for survival.

May your traditions bring you beauty and hope, dear reader. May you and your loved ones be safe.

 

With thanks to Kelley Wilson Mesterharm for photo

and for visions of mincemeat dancing in my head!

 

19 thoughts on “December 24.23: Coping, but barely

  1. I remember eating mincemeat pie as a child that my grandmother made. It was my mother’s absolute favorite pie. I don’t believe I’ve eaten it since, and it certainly isn’t found on your typical pie menu. Applause to a special daughter-in-law who would make it for you to enjoy. Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks, Judy, and a merry Christmas to you too! I agree that mincemeat pie isn’t on many pie menus. I’m very happy that it will be on my Christmas menu! Applause for the daughter-in-law indeed!

  2. Mincemeat pie was my dad’s favorite. I never acquired a taste for it myself, but from the age of twelve I made it for him every Christmas. Funny how looking at a pie, or pie filling, or the aroma of something baking or roasting or cooking on the stovetop can bring back a flood of warm memories. Your daughter -in-law is a treasure Maureen. Enjoy every forkful, including the crust!

    I join you in your good wishes and prayers for those who aren’t even thinking about Santa or Christmas…..they’re just trying to stay alive. And in some cases it’s not violence from humans, it’s Mother Nature. We should really count our blessings more often.

    Treasure every moment with your loved ones Maureen, and perhaps phone calls with friends. We all hold our traditions close to our hearts. They fuel the future while they honor the past.

    Stay well and stay safe. Ginger

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Yes, I totally agree about traditions: they do fuel the future and honor the past. And we have to pass them along when we can. It is absolutely true that tastes and kitchen smells take us back to people and places; that’s one of the wonderful things about Christmas. Christmas tastes and smells are so personal in a family.
      A very merry Christmas to you and your loved ones, Ginger!

  3. There was always a mincemeat pie at our holiday table, but I think my father was the only person who liked it. I tried, but I didn’t acquire the taste. I’m happy that you have someone who decided to make one from scratch for you. A Christmas tradition topped with love. It doesn’t get any better than that. Merry Christmas, Maureen.

    • Exactly so: it doesn’t get better than that! Homemade with love is the best flavor (though it did not apply to the first batch of pierogi I made). Mincemeat is a thing of strong persuasions, I think. Either you dig in or you run from it.
      Thanks, Dan, and a very merry Christmas to you and your loved ones! Including your four-footed extended family, of course!

  4. Wonderful poem Oddment. I have not had mincemeat pie in ages. Thank you for the delightful journey…”memories …encrusted”
    Merry Christmas and peace to you!

  5. You’re a delight. Merry Christmas.

  6. Loved the poem and the visual — what a loving gift. I didn’t enjoy mincemeat pie until husband’s aunt served up her raaaaather strong hard sauce to go with it!! 😁Yum, lol! Merry Christmas weeks, Maureen, to you and yours.🌷

    • Thanks, Carol, and Merry Christmas Week to you and yours too! Now it’s The Day After, and so I can report on the mincemeat, which was one of the most wonderful things I’ve ever tasted! There was no meat in it, and perhaps that was part of all the amazing fruit flavors, but whatever the secret, it was like Christmas fireworks. I’ve had a small experience of hard sauce, and I can easily imagine how it could have tuned you into mincemeat! YUM indeed! You remind me that I have an old recipe for hard sauce, so, if I can maybe talk Kelley into making more mincemeat next year…..well, maybe I’ll wait until she recovers from this year! I’ll have to play this carefully.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.