Oddments

In search of story

Connections: April 29.17

4 Comments

I have been in an alternate universe

a place I have been before

where perpetual motion is rampant

and parents a mere twoscore.

There’s soccer and softball and homework

lives lived digitally

two kids, two cats, two dogs,

and Grandma (that would be me).

Mom in a sling and Dad far away

a convergence of planning and chance

with non-stop pre-teen rhythm

and flying by the seat of our pants.

I lived in a place such as this

in a dim and distant past

when I had an abundance of pep

and my hormones hadn’t lapsed

but now my creaky bones

move far less supplely

and I don’t know when I’ll recover

from the onslaught of energy.

Connections

4 thoughts on “Connections: April 29.17

  1. Good to know where you were and that you are home again. Yes, the years do take away the ability to keep up with the young in spirit and body. Good memories and plenty of smiles though as you rest up and get back in your routine. 🙂

  2. Yes, yes! You got it exactly! And thank you for the laugh!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.