Oddments

In search of story

Connections: August 13.17

2 Comments

My family’s in the garden

the past grows ever green

my mom is in the phlox

most surely, though unseen

her dad in the tomatoes

my green-thumbed Grandpa Mauck

son of North Carolina

whose hills rolled in his talk

Grandma O’Hern in moss roses

her summer’s tried-and-true

her son, my dad, in marigold

(the only flower he knew!)

the dill for an unknown

its air a bit of mystery

but I know it figures somewhere

in my leafy family history

I don’t come (as they say) from money

I come more from dirt

so it’s good to feel them back

in horticultural concert.

 

 

 

Connections

2 thoughts on “Connections: August 13.17

  1. We share that ‘dirt’ history. 🙂 I was working outside this morning looking at the phlox and thinking of my grandmother. 🙂

Leave a Reply

