Oddments

In search of story

Connections: July 24.17

4 Comments

Maybe you remember

my Christmas tree mishap

when it toppled over

and flattened carpet nap.

Family ingenuity

perhaps aesthetics-free

brought it back to standing

with pragmaticality.

And now my poor tomato

bowed by wind and rain

lists like my old tree

risking break and sprain.

So whether Yule tradition

or heavy-laden vine

when the question comes from listing

the answer comes from twine.

 

 

 

 

Connections

4 thoughts on “Connections: July 24.17

  1. Brilliant and I love it! Our answer often comes from duct tape, but I like your solution better. May you need extra twine to support a heavy-laden vine.

    • Thank you, thank you! Yes, extra twine at the ready! I only hope the tomato doesn’t pull down the house. (How would I explain that to lookers?) Duct tape equally worthy, though I haven’t tried it with the tomatoes. Yet.

  2. Tomatoes – you are going to have nice, juicy tomatoes. 🙂 I had to tie a couple of big branches up yesterday. 🙂

    • I think that, besides the rains and winds, the humidity has also weighed them down. It’s sure weighed down the rest of us. I hope you’re right about my tomatoes; if I get a good yield, it will be a first!

Leave a Reply

