Oddments

In search of story

Connections: May 5.17

4 Comments

THE FIVE-SOCK BLUES

Verse 1:

I got the five-sock blues

wah-wah-wah-wah

I ain’t gonna snooze

wah-wah

’cause I got no clues

it’s such bad news

did it ever happen to youse?

Refrain:

Them mean old laundry gods

wah

I put in evens

they come out odds

oh, wah, oh, wah, oh, wah.

Verse 2:

I got the five-sock blues

wah-wah-wah-wah

but I got six shoes

wah-wah

my feet come in twos

oh, how could I lose

I can’t excuse

my five-sock blues.

Repeat refrain.

Bow.

You will be edified, dear reader, to know that this is currently being set to music

with comb-and-kleenex ostinato.

Connections

4 thoughts on “Connections: May 5.17

  1. This also reminds me of the Peter, Paul, and Mary song except instead of flowers we have missing socks. And, where do these darn things go? 🙂 : Where have all the flowers gone, long time passing? Where have all the flowers gone, long time ago? Where have all the flowers gone?

  2. I love it, and am going to be singing the refrain on laundry days! I’m picturing dancing sock puppets when you record the music video. And you always give me the gift of new vocabulary; now I know ostinato (although I may have a tough time using it in a sentence today.)

    • Yes, yes, sock puppets! My son has come up with the melody for this, and as soon as I can get the notation down, we will have to figure out a way to get it out to the world, which doesn’t know yet what it’s missing. Very glad to know that you are putting your own melody to it — thus does great folk music evolve! Thanks, Bonny! And, yes, ostinato can be a little hard to throw around, but I bet you find a way.

Leave a Reply

