Oddments

In search of story

Connections: April 10.17

2 Comments

Besides the joy

of first gardening day

a melancholy

underlay:

nongardeners lived here

and I knew when I bought

that “labor intensive”

described what I got.

So a mountain of mulch

an ocean of sweat

has been my investment

and I’m not done yet.

But it’s time to sell the house

to younger legs and hands

with a sense of deep injustice

that a gardener understands:

the walls and roof and porch

will all in sale combine

but these roots, this earth, these worms

are ever eternally mine!

Connections

2 thoughts on “Connections: April 10.17

  1. Beautifully said. Yes, selling a house is one thing. Selling a garden is an entirely different thing. Will you have in ground or container gardening available where you are going? Houseplants are always good too. 🙂

    • Yes, you would understand! I don’t know yet where I’ll be going so I’m not sure what I’ll have by way of gardening. Sometimes everything is up in the air. And this is one of those times. You can bet I hope for a garden of some sort!

Leave a Reply

