Oddments

In search of story

Connections: April 1.17

4 Comments

My writing mate Tamara

 got me into this mess

She said, “Why don’t you try it?

It’s just a month, maybe less.”

But the photo as prompt

turned to daily addiction

worse! it became poems

instead of nonfiction.

How did this happen?

It’s confounding, ironic

I’m so deeply pulled in

to the visual and phonic.

My old friends Bill and Donna

jumped in along with me

shooting word rapids

with photos and whimsy.

Have I learned what makes poetry?

I haven’t a clue

but still I can wish

Happy Poetry Month

to you!

And THANK YOU, Tamara, Bill, and Donna!

Connections

4 thoughts on “Connections: April 1.17

  1. The only poem that ever stuck me with through the years was “Do not go gentle into that good night, Old age should burn and rave at close of day; Rage, rage against the dying of the light.” and that becomes more relevant each day at my age. 🙂 But, I do enjoy and look forward to your daily posts because I think you usually include a tiny dose of humor, and I do so appreciate that. And, since I’m pretty sure we’re in the same age bracket, I get it. 🙂

    • I knew only the beginning of that, and I thank you for quoting more. You are so right about how it grows more meaningful as time goes on. Yes, if we both remember crinolines and saddle shoes, we must hail from the same decade. I am very grateful for your regular responses to my posts. It is so helpful to have a sense of audience. I look forward to your posts, too; I think we love some of the same things in life. Which do not include late spring snow. We had some last night. No accumulation, just enough to remind us how miserable New Englanders must be. I hope it isn’t as bad there as was predicted.

  2. Guilty as charged, and I don’t regret it one bit. I should be thanking you for all these years of picture and poetry, my friend! Happy poetry month.

Leave a Reply

