Oddments

In search of story

Connections: March 3

2 Comments

Vacant sign - 2015-10 - 02Emblem of me

wordless, cracked and flat

a lot of weedy concrete

under my writer’s hat.

Sometimes I must bow

to the gods of Bland and Bare

and admit I’m dry and empty

there’s just nothing there.

I’m not the only would-be

to plummet down this linn

but I’m the only one sitting here

in this writer’s skin.

So I guess it’s up to me

to find some fertile ground

some fuel

renewal

to get myself re-wound.

More thanks to the S.W. Berg Photo Archives.

Connections

2 thoughts on “Connections: March 3

  1. I know the feeling, Maureen, and hope that spring brings more fertile ground for words (but not weeds).

  2. Thanks! The weeds do poke through, but sometimes writers are grateful even for weeds. I’m ready to be warm, and am just sure that warmth will thaw out some of these frozen words which I know are in here somewhere.

Leave a Reply

